This area is reserved to Members and Observers of the HMC only

Last update: 20/11/2012

The Convention

To understand the Convention, it may be necessary to first read the introduction (see “Introduction”) and also consider the origins of the Convention (see “Background to the Convention”). The Standing Committee has been the driving force of the Convention and the main decision-taking body (see “Standing Committee”). The seven Founding States, which drafted and signed the original Convention back in 1972, have since been joined by many others (see “Accession Dates”). The Chairman of the Convention is the most important office holder and is assisted by two Deputies and the Secretariat (see “Office Holders”).